Constitution Text
- Constitution of the United StatesDownload a copy of the constitution in a variety of sizes and formats (National Archives site).
- Bill of RightsDownload a copy of the Bill of Rights (NARA site)
- Amendments 11-27
- Constitution Text - Transcript
- Constitution for ipad app
Constitution Facts
- ConstitutionFacts.comCheck your knowledge of the Constitution and take the quiz to find your Constitution IQ.
Constitution Day, September 17, 2012

Delegates at the Constitutional Convention in 1787 prepare to sign the U.S. Constitution.
credit: "Scene at the Signing of the Constitution of the United States" by artist Howard Chandler Christy
Constitution Day 2012 celebrates the 225 birthday of the United States Constitution on September 17. On that date in 1787, in Philadelphia, 39 delegates to the Constitutional Convention signed the Constitution.
Constitution Day and Citizenship Day was established by the U.S. Congress in 2004 and commemorates the signing of the Constitution and recognizes “all who, by coming of age or by naturalization, have become citizens.”
- Constitution Day at the University of CaliforniaConstitution Resources prepared by UC with a welcome message from UC President Yudof.
Constitution Resources and Documents

- Documents from the Continental Congress and Constitutional ConventionLibrary of Congress American Memory Collection
- To Form a More Perfect UnionAbout the background and history of the U.S. Constitution from the Library of Congress American Memory Project.
- James Madison's copy of the Bill of RightsDigitized version of Madison's original document from the Library of Congress.
- About the Founding FathersBiogoraphical information about the delegates to the Constitution Convention and signers of the constitution.
- Constitution of the United States; Analysis and InterpretationGovernment Printing Office official publication of the U.S. Constitution annotated is in a base 1992 edition with biennial supplements. Download a pdf of entire volumes or sections.
Featured CQ Research Issue
- CQ Researcher - Re-examining the Constitution
CQ Researcher's September 7, 2012 issue provides an exellent introduction to thinking about the U.S. Constitution today.
Selected Books and Documents
- Books and Documents in Shields Library (Selected list)Short list of books and documents on the Constitution in the Library.
Using Library Resources
Use the Harvest Catalog to find books about the Constitution. Suggested sample subject headings:
United States Constitution
Constitution History
Constitutional Amendments United States
United States Constitution 2nd Amendment
Selected Article Databases:
- Academic Search Complete
A multidisciplinary database with many full text articles and citations for even more. - PAIS
Includes all types of materials in public affairs and policy - journal articles, books and book chapters, reports, government documents, etc. - Worldwide Political Science Abstracts
Index and abstracts for peer-reviewed and scholarly journal articles relating to political science. - CQ Electronic Library
U.S. congressional reference resources.
Librarian |
Contact Info Shields Library Humanities, Social Sciences & Government Information Services 530-752-9784 Send Email Links: Profile & Guides |



Loading...
